So I got arrested for driving under the influence in Tampa, what are the maximum DUI penalties?
After being arrested for DUI in Hillsborough or Pinellas counties, a totally natural question is what am I facing? What should I expect? The St Petersburg criminal defense attorneys of Hackworth Law have sat down with countless families and friends of those charges with driving under the influence in the area. Well the short answer is “it depends.” It depends on the facts and circumstances of your arrest, your prior arrests and a host of other factors, including your blood alcohol level at the time of the arrest. For a first time Florida driving under the influence with a blood alcohol level below .15, you are facing a minimum of shsshshshshshsh. For a first time DUI above .15, the minimum penalties permissible under Florida driving under the influence statutes are:
- Not less than $500, or more than $1,000. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.
Again, though while these are the minimum sentences under Florida Statute Section 316.193, ultimately the facts and circumstance of your case will dictate the likely resolution and sentence for your case.
It is critical that if you or someone you know has been arrested for driving under the influence in the Tampa, St Petersburg or Clearwater area, contact the criminal defense attorneys of Bumenauer Hackworth. It is important to begin gathering the evidence and investigating the case immediately, the State Attorney’s Office has already been investigating the case.