What to Know about Petit Theft Charges
In the state of Florida, “petit theft” is defined as the act of taking something from someone unlawfully. Often, thefts that involve property valued between $100.00 and $300.00 are classified as “petit theft” in Tampa, FL, and throughout the state.
The Consequences of Petit Theft
Hands down, taking someone else’s property with the intent to claim it as your own is a crime. First-time offenders who steal property valued at under $100.00 may be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, which can lead to fines or a term in prison.
Individuals who steal property valued above $100.00 but below $300.00 can be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor with higher potential fines and imprisonment. Repeat offenders for petit theft may be charged with a third-degree felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of up to five years.
Fight Back Against Charges
A conviction for petit theft in Florida can cost the accused time and money, as well as a loss of reputation and breakdown of trust amongst peers. Therefore, it makes sense to consult with an assertive criminal defense attorney to fight petit theft charges.
A criminal defense attorney who has experience in court can provide aggressive representation, which can mollify a sentence or have the charges dropped altogether. Don’t stand trial alone–if you have a chance in court, fight it out with an experienced law firm.