Probation can be expensive. If you find yourself in this unfortunate circumstance, it is crucial to avoid a VOP in Florida, as it will only extend your probation and the costs associated with it. The average monthly probation fee for the state of Florida is $55. Alcohol breathalyzer tests cost around $15 each, drug screenings around $25 each, and if you need to be electronically monitored, that is another $105 per week.
If you are already struggling financially and are uncertain if you will be able to pay all of the necessary costs, it is important to inform your probation officer immediately. The officer may be able to submit a request to lower the cost of supervision, or potentially waive it. A judge could also impose a lien for fines or court costs if you are unable to pay these costs. In the event of a lien, you will be able to set up a payment plan over a pre-determined period. To qualify for a lien, you must be either looking for work, have a job, or be a student.
If you are charged with a VOP in Florida, you will need to act quickly. This charge can turn into a serious crime with harsh consequences. Your defense lawyer may be able to defend you from this charge by either proving innocence or establishing a lack of convicting evidence. If you are in need of an attorney in Tampa, FL, reach out to Hackworth Law PA today at (813) 280-2911.